Click to toggle navigation menu.

Virtual Spring Orchestra Concert

Wednesday, Jun 2, 2021

7:30pm – 8:30pm

The arts endure here at FSC and we are pleased to have the opportunity to share this collection of innovative and emotional representations virtually, directed by Martha Placeres with Mark Thomsen, featuring music of Berlioz, Verdi and Gilbert & Sullivan.

The “March to the Scaffold” is the fourth of five movements in the Symphonie Fantastique by Berlioz.  The symphony, as a whole, tells the story in music, of a troubled young artist and his quest for his true love. The fourth movement takes on a nightmarish character: having taken opium, the young artist dreams that he has killed his true love and is about to be executed for his crime.  This movement thus depicts the artist’s forced march to the scaffold.

In his 1846 concert-theater piece The Damnation of Faust, Berlioz wanted to introduce his brilliant orchestration, the Hungarian March. This was named for Ferenc Rákóczy II, the leader of an uprising at the beginning of the eighteenth century in the Hungarians’ endless struggle for independence from Austria.

June 2 – 7:30pm

Event Location

Event Fees